The Four Worlds and the Ten Heavens

The Four Worlds and the Ten Heavens


The four worlds (Hebrew: olam) actually represent four distinct but interpenetrating dimensions or levels of reality. Each level may be thought of as containing (or being contained by) an appropriate and full Tree of Life. The four worlds or dimensions thus represent four different levels of abstraction, ranging from the most concrete physical reality (Assiah) to the most rarified abstract and invisible reality (Atziluth.) They also possess some relationship to the Indian tradition of the various lokas or spheres of existence (Physical, Astral, Mental, Causal, and so forth; systems vary in nomenclature and hierarchy.)

Also, each level of reality is mystically tied to one of the letters of the Divine Fourfold Name, Yod-He-Vau-He.

We will see in a later page how the Ten Sephiroth of each of the Four Worlds are each governed by a distinct hierarchy of forces (Divine, Archangelic, Angelic, and so forth.) In our Order, and especially later on in the R+C, our main focus of attention will be upon the forces that make up the Middle Pillar or four vertically linked centers (Kether, Tiphareth, Yesod and Malkuth) which equate (in the world of Assiah) to four major chakras (ajna, anahata, manipura and svadisthana.) In meditation and devotion we learn to generate or experience the circular flow of energy in which the Divine Light of Kether is brought down the spine to the Heart center (Tiphareth), thence to the rest of the body, and recirculated once again. (This is the significance of KHABS AM PEKHT or Light in Extension.)




The Divine Level of Reality; the Firey-Archetypal Sphere




The Creative-Intellective Level of Reality; the Fluidic-Archangelic Sphere




The Formative Level of Reality; the Airy-Astral-Angelic Sphere




The Physical Level of Reality; the Solid-Action/Reaction (Karmic) Sphere


The Ten Heavens or Worlds of Assiah are the equivalents, in the realm of Assiah, to the Ten Sephiroth. They are specifically “concrete” or manifest appearances that receive the energy of the archetypal Sephira but in a stepped-down intensity. They are as follows:


1 Rashith ha-Gilgalim (First Revolvings). Primum Mobile. Ajna Chakra.

2 Mazloth (Stations). The Zodiacal Belt.

3 Shabbathai (Seventh). Saturn.

4 Tzedek (Righteous). Jupiter.

5 Madim (Might). Mars.

6 Shemesh (Solar). Sun. Anahata Chakra.

7 Nogah (Shiner). Venus.

8 Kokab (Star). Mercury.

9 Levannah (Moon). Moon. Svadisthana Chakra.

10 Olam Yesodoth. (World of Foundations). The Four Elements. Muladhara Chakra.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: